• LinkedIn
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

Woodrow Wilson Bridge Replacement

The dedication ceremony for the new Woodrow Wilson Bridge carried the theme: “A bridge completed, a region connected.” This award-winning project replaced a functionally obsolete bridge on the Capital Beltway with two side-by-side 1.4–mile- (2.25-kilometer-) long structures with drawbridges carrying 12 lanes of traffic over the Potomac River between Virginia and Maryland.


WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff was the lead member of a joint venture that served as general engineering consultant. Besides the new bridge, the 7.5-mile (12.1-kilometer), $2.4 billion project involved reconstructing four adjacent interchanges, two in Virginia and two in Maryland, and redeveloping Jones Point Park, a National Park Service landmark underneath the new bridge.

The bridge’s location in a heavily developed metropolitan area—rich in parks and natural areas—required compatibility with local environmental, traffic, aesthetic, historic and socioeconomic concerns, with a particular sensitivity to public issues. Design-related responsibilities included implementing public information and involvement programs; obtaining environmental permits; contract administration; and establishing project-wide cost and schedule controls. During construction, the project team also provided hands-on construction engineering and inspection services. Additional responsibilities included design coordination; cost and schedule control; maintenance of traffic; community relations and stakeholder involvement; environmental assessment and permitting; congestion management; material testing; and full-service construction management. The completion of the Telegraph Road Interchange in 2013 marked the final stage of this project. 

The Woodrow Wilson Bridge project is the recipient of numerous industry awards and honors, including the 2008 American Society of Civil Engineers Outstanding Civil Engineering Achievement Award, the 2009 American Council of Engineering Companies Engineering Excellence Grand Award, and the 2009 Gustav Lindenthal Medal for Excellence in Bridge Engineering.